Winner of This Week's Drawing Is...
Pat has won a $50 restaurant gift card.
The next drawing will be in a few weeks.....
Important New Law Regarding
Carbon Monoxide Detectors
of July 1, 2011 ALL
single family residences in California must have carbon monoxide
of the dwelling if that home has an attached garage, a fireplace or
any gas or oil burning appliances, which is pretty much every single
family home in California.
Senate Bill 183 first took effect in January for construction of new
homes. Starting July 1st it applies to existing homes as well. The
detectors of the odorless, colorless gas can be bought at hardware
stores for anywhere from $20 to $90. The bill requires that devices
sold are certified by the
Office of State Fire Marshal. Many people are choosing to
replace their existing smoke detectors with a combination smoke
and carbon monoxide detector.
But not everyone has to install the detectors by July 1.
Owners of other dwellings, such as hotels, apartments and
dormitories, have until 2013 to comply.
Homeowners who fail to install the devices by July 1
will receive a 30-day notice. If they fail to comply, they face a
maximum fine of $200 for each offense. Tonya Hoover, acting
State Fire Marshall, said it will be difficult to enforce the law but
that the focus should be in increasing awareness. "It will be
challenging because they are a lot more homes than people able to
verify," Hoover said. "That's why one should focus on
education and outreach, informing people about the law and how to
install the devices properly."
Video of the Week
My Blackberry Is
This very popular video is a hilarious
tongue-in-cheek look at technology from the BBC.
What we think
determines what happens to us, so if we want to change our lives, we
need to stretch our minds.
always, feel free to give me a call 800-913-7677 with your real
estate needs. I appreciate your referrals.